Gregory L. Geoffroy

(1946- ; president 2001-2011)
Portrait painted in 2007 by artist Istvan Nyikos

President Gregory L. Geoffroy

Gregory L. Geoffroy was the 14th president of Iowa State University. He stepped down from the presidency in January 2012, but remains on the Iowa State faculty in the department of chemistry.

Geoffroy was born in 1946 in Honolulu, Hawaii. He received a B.S. (1968) in Chemistry from the University of Louisville, Kentucky; and a Ph.D (1974) in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California. Dr. Geoffroy served as the Dean of the Eberly College of Science, and professor and chair of Chemistry at Pennsylvania State University (1974-1989), and was Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost (1997-2001) at the University of Maryland. He also served as Interim President (1998). Geoffroy remained in this last position until he assumed the presidency of Iowa State.

Dr. Geoffroy has an extensive publication record in chemistry journals and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy. He was named a Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, in 1991.

Iowa State University

University Library, Ames, Iowa 50011, Email Webmaster
Copyright © 2000-2017, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.

Federal Depository Library ProgramTwitterFacebook

Follow us online